Tag Archives: Rockets

VKH Cougars claim NCJHL regular-season East Division championship

Regular-season play in the region’s junior ‘C’ hockey league concluded with the Vankleek Hill Cougars as the top team in the East Division, while the South Grenville Rangers finished first in the West.

playoff matchups
NCJHL graphic

First-round playoff series, league quarter-finals, are underway, with two games in the books for each.

VKH is tangling with the Gatineau-Hull Volant in series B, which is knotted at a game apiece.

The Cougars took the opened 6-3, but dropped the second contest 9-5. Game three is scheduled for February 26 in Vankleek Hill, starting at 7:50 p.m. The teams will then play Friday in Gatineau, before returned to the Cougars’ home ice Saturday evening, for a 7:20 p.m. match.

The North Dundas Rockets, who play out of Chesterville, are in series C with the Clarence Castors. This one is also tied at one game each. Clarence won game one 5-3, and North Dundas replied in game two with a 7-3 effort.

The next two contests are set for the Chesterville arena, February 26 at 8:15 p.m. and February 28 at 7:45 p.m.

In series D, the St. Isidore Aigles lead the Bytown Royals two games to none, on scores of 4-3 (OT) and 5-1. The Aigles are scheduled to host the third match tonight, at 8 p.m.

Series A has South Grenville (Cardinal) leading Metcalfe 2-0 in games.

NCJHL 2020 award recipients: Justin Lefebvre (regular-season MVP, North Dundas Rockets), Jacob Servant (rookie of the year, Clarence Castors), Lucas Stitt (executive of the year, South Grenville Rangers), Keean McEachern (best defenceman, VKH Cougars), Samuel Limoges-Ring (best goaltender, South Grenville Rangers), Andrew Hazard (B├ędard Family award, Clarence Castors), Nicholas Castonguay (best defensive forward, VKH Cougars), Ron Harrison (coach of the year, South Grenville Rangers), Brayden Forrestell (most improved, South Grenville Rangers), and Joel Hunt (most sportsmanlike, North Dundas Rockets).

Share this: