Tag Archives: Lavergne

Cornwall Speedway looks back on 2010-13

The Cornwall Motor Speedway shares this article written by Martin Bélanger as we look back on 2010 through 2013 at the race track.

speedway logo

We are about 3 weeks away from turning a new chapter as we will start a new decade. A lot of great action and racing can happen in 10 years. Let’s look back at what happened at Cornwall Motor Speedway from 2010 to 2019, starting with the 2010 through 2013 racing seasons.

In 2010, the decade started with the announcement of the Canadian Nationals as a staple series at the speedway, replacing the Lucas Oil Canadian Series that toured area tracks. Brett Hearn stole the show at that first edition, winning both events and leaving with more than $10,000 in prize money. Laurent Ladouceur won his fourth and final Modified track championship over brothers Danny and Tim O’Brien. Joey Ladouceur was the dominant force in the Pro-Stock division in 2010, scoring the track championship along with the Mohawk Race Parts Series crown. Chris Raabe won the Sportsman title in front of veteran Chris Herbison, while Gaetan Amesse in Semi-Pro and Ronnie Tyo in Mini-Stock, won their respective championships.

Stephane Lafrance had a banner year in 2011, winning both the track championship and the Canadian Nationals Series. He became the first driver to get both titles in the same season. Carey Terrance and Joel Doiron completed the podium. Joey Ladouceur continued his dominant way in the Pro-Stock, with 6 wins, paving the way to his sixth championship. He also took the Mohawk Race Parts Series. After being runner up in 2010, Chris Herbison won the championship in Sportsman, while Kevin Fetterly Jr in Semi-Pro and Ernie Cree in Mini-Stock were named champions in their divisions.

2012 was another historic year for promoter Ron Morin as he hosted for the first time the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. Morin pushed the envelope that year in having the World of Outlaws Late Models as well. Donny Schatz won the historic race, while Mother Nature had her best with the Late Models. Dale Planck imitated Lafrance by winning his third track championship and the Canadian Nationals. Laurent Ladouceur finished second with Chris Raabe completing the podium. Chris Herbison had a terrific year by securing his second Sportsman championship and winning the new Seaway GM Series. Joey Ladouceur won both track and Mohawk Race Parts Series, while Benoit Dubois in Semi-Pro and Martin Bernard in Mini-Stock won their respective class titles.

The year 2013 started on the wrong foot with 4 of the first 5 events being cancelled due to inclement weather. The first program finally ran on June 9 that year. Mario Clair won the Modified track championship with Brian McDonald getting the honours in the Canadian Nationals. Joey Ladouceur made a splash in his first year in Sportsman, winning the track championship, with Mathieu Desjardins getting the Seaway GM Series. Dave Bissonnette captured the Pro-Stock championship, with Stephane Lebrun getting the Mohawk Race Parts Series. Steve Billings in Semi-Pro and Mike Gaucher in Mini-Stock nabbed the titles. This was also the last season for Ron Morin as the owner of Cornwall Motor Speedway.

In an upcoming story, we will revisit the years 2014 to 2016, which marked the debut of the Lavergne family as new owners of the track.

Share this: