Tag Archives: GSL

Vankleek Hill women capture tier 2 soccer championship

On Wednesday evening, Vankleek Hill’s tier 2 women’s soccer team captured the GSL championship, with a 1-0 win over Char-Lan. Kyla Burwash scored the lone tally.

Vankleek Hill reached the one-game final following a 1-0 August 12 semifinal victory over Laggan. Two days later, Char-Lan advanced on a 2-1 victory over Laggan in their semi.

soccer team
Members of the Vankleek Hill tier 2 women’s soccer team include, standing in the back row from left, Elizabeth Barton, Kelsey Mode, Cynthia Wever, Allison Simpson, Kate Cunning, Randi Tolhurst, and Katie McDougald. In front are Stephanie Anderson, Kerri Albright, Laura Kirby, Melody Nixon, Sara Accardi, Kyla Burwash, and Ashton MacDonald. Missing from photo: Meagan MacDonald.
Share this:

Game three of GSL men’s finals tonight to decide championship

With his squad short-handed on a red card, Brennan Nadeau scored off a rebound for Alexandria’s senior men’s soccer team, in the 16th minute of double overtime, to secure a 2-1 victory and draw evening in the best-of-three Glengarry Soccer League championship series with Alexandria FC, at a game apiece.

The marathon contest, played August 28 on a slick Island Park field from day-long rain showers, remained scoreless into the second half, when FC broke through in the 75th minute, as Shawn Vink got one past goalkeeper David MacMaster. The pace remained good, though scoring chances were limited both ways, as FC looked to hold the lead to claim the championship. Meanwhile, the Alexandria side had other ideas.

Their persistence paid off, as a miscue in the 80th minute set up Nadeau for the equalizer.

Eighteen minutes into extra time, MacMaster made a brilliant diving stop off a free kick. Alexandria’s best scoring chance, by Liam MacDonald, came 10 minutes later, with the shot glancing off the outside of the goalpost behind FC netminder Nicolas Vaillaincourt. Later, FC had a shot of its own off the woodwork behind MacMaster.

In the second additional period, MacMaster was called upon again, making a fabulous save at the seven-minute mark.

Nadeau’s game-winning goal came after 151 minutes of play.

Game three, for the trophy, will go tonight at Island Park, starting at 8:30 p.m.

soccer action
Alexandria vs Alexandria FC in GSL senior men’s soccer
Share this:

Pivotal game two in men’s soccer finals tonight

At Island Park in Alexandria tonight, the Glengarry Soccer League’s senior men’s division playoff champion could be crowned, with a win by Alexandria FC.

Standing in their way is Alexandria, which will be looking to even the series and force a deciding third match.

Alexandria FC prevailed in the series opener last week, 1-0, on a goal from Parker MacDonald.

Tonight’s kickoff is set for 8:30 p.m.

Share this:

GSL women’s awards handed out

The Glengarry Soccer League last night presented its annual awards for the senior women’s division, recognizing the top performers from the 2019 outdoor season.

Named best goalkeepers were Caroline DeRepentigny (from the Dunvegan team) and Catherine Glaude (Vankleek Hill). Braelyn MacMaster won the award for best back. The regular season’s most valuable player was Brittany MacLennan (Laggan).

Michelle DeRepentigny-Lafleur was chosen as best forward, and Willie Kippen (Maxville) was voted best coach. Olivia Graham (Laggan) and Kaitlyn Murray-MacDonald (Maxville) were co-winners of most gentlemanly player honours. Sharing the best rookie award were Tamara Ellis (Glen Sandfield) and Leigh MacMillan (Maxville).

Tammy MacSweyn was honoured with the Louis Shepherd Award for outstanding sports advancement.

soccer award winners
From left are Caroline DeRepentigny, Kaitlyn Murray-MacDonald, Michelle DeRepentigny-Lafleur, Leigh MacMillan, Alexia Chaumont, Kalica Rose, Braelyn MacMaster, and Tammy MacSweyn.
Share this:

GSL honours referees, bursary winners

The Glengarry Soccer League annually recognizes the leadership of the club’s referees, in fond memory of Brian Filion and his dedication and passion for soccer. This year’s recipients are Matthew Houlzet (senior official), and Shayla MacNaughton and Addison Hay (minor officials).

The GSL expresses its thanks to these referees you for “commitment and dedication in promoting the beautiful game that brings our community together.”

soccer award winners
The 2019 GSL special honourees include, standing in the back row from left, Shayla MacNaughton, Matthew Houlzet, and Addison Hay. In front are Hunter MacPherson and Brooke Lapierre. (GSL photo)

The GSL also recognized the achievements of two students who will be heading off this fall to attend post-secondary education as freshmen. The recipient of the Mary MacMaster Memorial Bursary is Brooke Lapierre (who will be attending Trent University in Peterborough), and the recipient of the Keith MacDonell Memorial Bursary is Hunter MacPherson (Algonquin College, Ottawa). The GSL wishes both student-athletes best of luck this upcoming year.

Share this: